Latest News
Foreign missions advise citizens to exercise caution in Dhaka, Unanswered questions on rescue operation, Two die in Hizb-ut Tawhid-villagers clash in Noakhali, BCL calls off protests against DU VC Arefin Sidddiue over souvenir

Rio 2016 Full List: The ABC of India's 120-Strong Contingent

Rio 2016 Full List: The ABC of India's 120-Strong Contingent

Published By: 24newsmedia
Rio 2016 Full List: The ABC of India's 120-Strong Contingent
Jul 26

The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) will be one of the proudest sports administrators in Asia as the country fields its largest ever contingent of 120 athletes for the Summer Olympics in the carnival city of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from August 4 to 21.
India's new Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports, Vijay Goel, couldn't have asked for a more opportune moment for his appointment, as India stands a fair chance of improving on its medals tally of six at London four years ago.
Though eyes will once again be largely on the 12-member shooting contingent, medals can be expected in badminton, wrestling, tennis and archery - with also an outside chance in boxing and the men's hockey competition.
In terms of numbers, there has been a heartening and somewhat unprecedented jump in the track and field athletes - from 14 in 2012 to 36 for Rio. After that, apart from the 32 members in the men's and women's hockey teams, the wrestling (8) and the badminton (7) squads are the strongest.
India's lone individual gold medallist, shooter Abhinav Bindra, will be carrying the tricolour at the opening ceremony, where following him will be tennis ace and Atlanta bronze medallist Leander Paes appearing in his seventh Olympics.

The 83 Indians athletes in London included only 23 women, which is around 27 percent of the contingent. That percentage for Rio has risen to over 43, with 52 of the 120 athletes travelling to Rio being women.
Among the many first, it will be the maiden appearance at the Games for a woman gymnast from India as the 23-year-old Gita Karmakar created history a few days back.
In table tennis, India will see four paddlers taking part for the first time, and it will be only the second time in the history of the Games that the Indian women's hockey team will be seen in action at the Olympics.
After PT Usha, India will see a woman sprinter in the 100m event for the first time as Dutee Chand ensured that with her qualification.
Avtar Singh, the lone judoka in the squad, is the first Indian in 12 years to qualify for the discipline since Akram Shah (60 kg) in Athens 2004.
It will be Bindra's last appearance at the Olympics, and the champion shooter will surely dig deep into his reserves to come up with a 'golden' farewell. Leander may disagree, but at 43, it could also be the last time India will see him playing at the Games. And he is also the oldest in the travel party.
Eyes will also be on the wrestling mat in Rio, where the 2012 silver medallist Yogeshwar Dutt will try to improve on the colour of his last medal. Like Bindra, Yogeshwar too has confirmed that Rio is going to be his concluding appearance at the biggest sporting carnival.
The list of Indian athletes making their debut is pretty long, headlines by the fact that the entire women's hockey team is playing their first Olympics and shooter Prakash Nanjappa, 40, is the oldest among the first-timers.
It will be a blot and setback should wrestler Narsingh Yadav be confirmed to have flunked a dope test 'intentionally' and is barred from the Games, but otherwise India have all the reason to begin their campaign in high spirits.
The Chef de Mission for the Indian contingent is Rakesh Gupta.
1. Shooting: Jitu Rai (10m air pistol, 50m pistol)
2. Shooting: Abhinav Bindra (10m air rifle)
3. Shooting: Gagan Narang (10m air rifle, 50m rifle prone, 50m rifle 3 positions)
4. Badminton: Saina Nehwal (Women's Singles)
5. Wrestling: Yogeshwar Dutt (Freestyle 65 kg)
6. Archery: Deepika Kumari (Women's Recurve)
7. Tennis: Leander Paes-Sania Mirza (Mixed Doubles)
8. Hockey: Men
9. Badminton: PV Sindhu (Women's Singles)
10. Boxing: Shiva Thapa (Men's 56 kg)
1. Deepika Kumari (Individual and Team event in Recurve)
2. Laxmi Rani Majhi (Individual and Team event in Recurve)
3. Bombayla Devi (Individual and Team event in Recurve)
4. Atanu Das (Individual Recurve)
5. Dharambir (200m)
6. Muhammad Anas Yahiya (400m & 4x400m Relay)
7. Jinson Johnson (800m)
8. Ankit Sharma (Long Jump)
9. Renjith Maheswary (Triple Jump)
10. Inderjeet Singh (Shot Put)
11. Vikas Gowda (Discus Throw)
12. Nitendra Singh Rawat (Marathon)
13. Gopi Thonakal (Marathon)
14. Kheta Ram (Marathon)
15. Manish Singh Rawat (20Km Race Walking)
16. Gurpreet Singh (20Km Race Walking)
17. Ganapathi Krishnan (20Km Race Walking)
18. Sandeep Kumar (50Km Race Walking)
19. Arokia Rajiv (4x400m Relay)
20. Kunhu Muhammaed Puthanpurakal (4x400m Relay)
21. Dharun Ayyasamy (4x400m Relay)
22. Mohankumar Raja (4x400m Relay)
23. Lalith Mathur (4x400m Relay)
24. Dutee Chand (100m)
25. Srbani Nanda (200m)
26. Nirmla (400m & 4x400m Relay)
27. Tintu Luka (800m)
28. Sudha Singh (3000m Steeple Chase)
29. Lalit Shivaji Babar (3000m Steeple Chase)
30. Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put)
31. Seema Punia (Discus Throw)
32. OP Jaisha (Marathon)
33. Kavita Tungar Raut (Marathon)
34. Khushbir Kaur (20km Race Walking)
35. Sapana (20km Race Walking)
36. Poovamma Raju Machettira (4x400m Relay)
37. Anilda Thomas (4x400m Relay)
38. Jisna Mathew (4x400m Relay)
39. Aswani Chidananda Akkunji (4x400m Relay)
40. Debashree Mazumdar (4x400m Relay)
41. Kidambi Srikanth
42. Manu Atthri
43. Sumeet Reddy
44. Saina Nehwal
45. PV Sindhu
46. Jwala Gutta
47. Ashwini Ponnappa
48. Shiva Thapa (56 kg)
49. Manoj Kumar (64 kg)
50. Vikas Krishan (75 kg)
GOLF (3)
51. Anirban Lahiri
52. SP Chawrasia
53. Aditi Ashok
54. Dipa Karmakar (Artistic - Individual Alround)
55. PR Sreejesh (captain)
56. Rupinder Pal Singh
57. VR Raghunath
58. Kothajit Singh
59. Surender Kumar
60. Harmanpreet Singh
61. Danish Mujtaba
62. Chinglensana Singh
63. Manpreet Singh
64. Sardar Singh
65. SK Uthappa
66. Devinder Walmiki
67. SV Sunil (vice captain)
68. Akashdeep Singh
69. Ramandeep Singh
70. Nikkin Thimmaiah
71. Navjot Kaur
72. Deep Grace Ekka
73. Monika
74. Nikki Pradhan
75. Anuradha Devi Thockcha
76. Savita
77. Poonam Rani
78. Vandana Katariya
79. Deepika
80. Namita Toppo
81. Renuka Yadav
82. Sunita Lakra
83. Sushila Chanu (captain)
84. Rani Rampal
85. Preeti Dubey
86. Lilima Minz
JUDO (1)
87. Avtar Singh (90 kg)
88. Dattu Bhokanal (M1x Men's Singles Sculls)
89. Abhinav Bindra (10m air rifle)
90. Kynan Chenai (Trap)
91. Mairaj Ahmad Khan (Skeet)
92. Prakash Nanjappa (50m pistol)
93. Gagan Narang (10m air rifle, 50m rifle prone, 50m rifle 3 positions)
94. Jitu Rai (10m air pistol, 50m pistol)
95. Chain Singh (50m rifle prone, 50m rifle 3 positions)
96. Gurpreet Singh (10m air pistol, 25m rapid fire pistol)
97. Manavjit Singh Sandhu (Trap)
98. Apurvi Chandela (10m air rifle)
99. Ayonika Paul (10m air rifle)
100. Heena Sidhu (10m air pistol, 25m pistol)
101. Sajan Prakash (200m butterfly)
102. Shivani Katariya (200m freestyle)
103. Achanta Sharath Kamal (Singles)
104. Soumyajit Ghosh (Singles)
105. Mouma Das (Singles)
106. Manika Batra (Singles)
107. Rohan Bopanna (Men's Doubles)
108. Leander Paes (Men's Doubles, Mixed Doubles)
109. Sania Mirza (Women's Doubles, Mixed Doubles)
110. Prarthana Thombare (Women's Doubles)
111. Sathish Kumar Sivalingam (77 kg)
112. Mirabhai Chanu Saikhom (48 kg)
113. Yogeshwar Dutt (Freestyle 65 kg)
114. Narsingh Pancham Yadav (Freestyle 74 kg)
115. Sandeep Tomar (Freestyle 57 kg)
116. Hardeep (Greco-Roman 98 kg)
117. Ravinder Khatri (Greco-Roman 85 kg)
118. Sakshi Malik (Freestyle 58 kg)
119. Vinesh Phogat (Freestyle 48 Kg)
120. Babita Kumari (Freestyle 53 kg)

You Might also like

Selected News

More Articles

অনলাইন জরিপ

রাজনৈতিক উদ্দেশ্যে কাউকে আটক করিনি—স্বরাষ্ট্রমন্ত্রীর এ বক্তব্যের সঙ্গে কি আপনি একমত?

পুরোনো ফলাফল